Votes are in, meet your new council

Somerset Regional Council's newly elected team of Councillors: Kylee Isidro, Michael Bishop, Tiara Hurley, Mayor Jason Wendt, Sally Jess, Brett Freese, and Helen Brieschke.

Lockyer Valley and Somerset regions’ 2024 elected councillors have been declared, following postal vote counts on Tuesday 26 March.

In Lockyer Valley Regional Council, returning Mayor Tanya Milligan will join returning Councillors Chris Wilson and Michael Hagan, and incoming Councillors David Neuendorf, Cheryl Steinhardt, Anthony Wilson and Julie Reck.

Former Councillor Brett Qualischefski is the only incumbent to not be re-elected.

In Somerset Regional Council, new Mayor and former Councillor Jason Wendt will join returning Councillors Helen Brieschke and Kylee Isidro, and incoming Councillors Tiara Hurley, Michael Bishop, Brett Freese and Sally Jess.

Former Councillor Sean Choat was unsuccessful in his bid for Mayor, while Councillor Bob Whalley missed out on the sixth position, with 217 votes less than Michael Bishop.

Lockyer Valley Regional Council will hold its first meeting as newly-elected representatives on 5 April, and Somerset Regional Council will do the same on 10 April.

The Deputy Mayor for each council is expected to be chosen at these meetings.

David Cullen and Jim Madden have been declared the new Councillors for Division 4 in Ipswich City Council, with Mayor Teresa Harding expected to retain her title.