New Ipswich City Council sworn in

Ipswich City Council’s new and returning councillors: Pye Augustine (D1), Jacob Madsen (D1), David Cullen (D4), Andrew Antoniolli (D3), Mayor Teresa Harding, Marnie Doyle (D3), Nicole Jonic (D2), Jim Madden (D4), and Paul Tully (D2). Picture: ICC

A new chapter for Ipswich began on 2 April with the swearing in of Ipswich City Council’s mayor and councillors.

Following the Electoral Commissioner for Queensland declaring the results of the 16 March elections, Ipswich’s new council team is:

• Mayor – Teresa Harding

• Division 1 Councillors – Jacob Madsen and Pye Augustine

• Division 2 Councillors – Paul Tully and Nicole Jonic

• Division 3 Councillors – Marnie Doyle and Andrew Antoniolli

• Division 4 Councillors – Jim Madden and David Cullen

Division 4 has two new faces, with former Councillor Kate Kunzelmann not contesting and former Deputy Mayor Russell Milligan unsuccessful in his bid to return to council.

The city’s 51st Mayor, Teresa Harding, commenced a second term with four returning and four newly elected councillors.

“On behalf of all councillors, I want to thank the voters of Ipswich for putting your confidence in us,” Cr Harding said.

“It is an incredible honour, and also very humbling, to be chosen to represent this city, and I congratulate my fellow councillors on their success.

“The city is growing at an unprecedented rate, and that will continue for the next decade or more.

“My goal in this second term as Mayor is to build on that growth and prosperity, working with councillors to move the city forward sustainably and to lead Ipswich with honesty and integrity.”

The first meeting of the new council will be held on 11 April.