Wivenhoe winter sailing a ‘ketch’

The annual Winter Marathon Regatta, hosted by the Brisbane Valley Sailing Club, took place at Lake Wivenhoe from 1-2 June. Pictures: BRISBANE VALLEY SAILING CLUB

The Brisbane Valley Sailing Club held its annual Winter Marathon Regatta at Lake Wivenhoe from 1-2 June, with 34 competitors flying their sails for gold across four race divisions.

The weather forecast of rain and light winds kept the number of boats racing lower than in previous years for the annual Wivenhoe racing event, with the regatta running from Logan’s Inlet campground at Lake Wivenhoe.

The Saturday race was held in a 6 knot breeze with a slight drizzle.

The fast catamarans and Wetas sailed 6.5 nautical miles down to Hays Landing before returning to the start-finish line.

The slower catamarans and the mono-hull boats sailed a shorter course.

It was a sunnier day for the Sunday race, and the wind was light at around 2 knots.

This led to shorter courses for both the faster multi-hull boats and mono-hull boats to ensure they all finished within the three-hour time limit.

This year’s regatta was sponsored by Doyle Sails Queensland and Brisbane Catamaran Centre, who supplied the prices for the raffle and the prices for the four race divisions.

Saturday night’s dinner was catered by R&K Catering in Fernvale and was enjoyed by the sailors and their families after a great day on the water.

The four race division winners were:

Div 1 Fast Catamarans

1st Place: Frauline-Steve Slater-Taipan

2nd Place: Loose Kids-William Richards-F18

3rd Place: Kean Edge-Colin Kean-F18

Div 2 Slow Catamarans

1st Place: Hobie Flash-Erin Stevens-Hobie 14 Cat

2nd Place: Deck Chair 2-Stuart House-Nacra 4.5

3rd Place: One Kenobi/James Jarvis/Hobie 16

Div 3 Weta

1st Place: Wetashag-George Owen Weta

2nd Place: Last Try-Steve Cumming Weta

3rd Place: Wet As-Peter Hackett Weta

Div 4 Dinghies/Tailer Sailer/Sports boats

1st Place: Skittles-Josh Franklin-MG 14

2nd Place: Puddy-Adam-Impulse

3rd Place: Too Hot-Dave Robinson-RS100